In Focus    |    10.2021

5G connects Hong Kong to the world and the universe

5G is promising to deliver dramatic changes to how we live, work, entertain and connect with others. This upgrade to the world’s telecommunications network is currently being deployed globally. However, in Hong Kong, it is already providing a lifeline for companies hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic and is bringing the community together to reach for the stars.

Partnership makes 5G real

3 Hong Kong hasn’t just plugged in the network and said, “Good luck!” to Hong Kong companies and non-profit organisations. It works closely with them to develop solutions uniquely suited to their needs and those of their customers and fans. It has even assisted them to secure the government funding needed to help them bring forward plans to connect with the world at 5G speed.

Aimed at “enhancing Hong Kong’s overall competitiveness”, the Hong Kong government’s Office of the Communications Authority provides grants to help organisations to fulfil their 5G dreams. In turn, 3 Hong Kong provides its expertise at no cost to help companies negotiate the application process. And when they are successful, everyone wins.

Bringing the dance to you

The Hong Kong Dance Company (HKDC) has, like performing arts companies everywhere, been hit hard by COVID-19 and the shutdown of performance venues for extended periods. HKDC has responded by bringing their passion out of the studio and transmitting it to people around the world using 3 Hong Kong’s unique expertise.

HKDC is adopting 3 Hong Kong’s 5G 4K Broadcasting Solution to conduct dance classes online, reaching even more students in Hong Kong and beyond. As restrictions have loosened, they’ve also started putting high-definition performances online. Artistic passion married to technical expertise has created a truly global audience. Dr David Tsui, Executive Director of HKDC, says, “5G technology has brought unprecedented inspiration and equipped us with new virtual reality technology to explore brand new markets.”

3 Hong Kong provides its expertise at no cost to help companies ... when they are successful, everyone wins.

Shoppers’ robot guide

Fortune REIT is deploying a smart robot in their +WOO shopping mall. This friendly antithesis to the Terminator will never have to say “I’ll be back”, as it will always have the answers immediately, spoken and on a display screen. This friendly concierge/ambassador can translate shoppers’ questions in multiple languages, transmit the data via super-high-speed 5G for processing and then provide answers to the shoppers in real-time. It can serve as a mobile kiosk to provide an e-directory for shoppers – but can do more. Not only can it tell you where to go – it can give you directions AND guide you to your destination.

It’s not all sweet stuff though; the robot will be on guard duty when the mall is closed, roaming the halls in the quiet of the night. If it sees anything unusual, 3’s network enables the night-time guardian to capture real-time data to send to a security control room.

Show me ... everything

The construction industry is also in a position to realise massive savings. Paul Y. Engineering Group is one of Hong Kong’s largest contractors – and a fan of 5G. They are heavy users of building engineering software, but this is frequently bogged down by slow data transmission due to large file sizes. Portable 5G has elevated the Building Information Modelling (BIM, an industry-standard building visualisation software) experience with more efficient data transmission both in the office and at the worksite. By connecting Mixed Reality (MR) devices (e.g. a wearable HoloLens) to 3 Hong Kong’s 5G network, they can start seeing project buildouts in hologram-like projections.

James Lee, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Paul Y. Engineering Group, says, “By using the 5G BIM MR Solution, workers can visualise 3D MR images, compare architecture design and onsite situations, conduct 3D clash detection, preview building processes and experience the sense of project completion in real-time on their devices. Defects from planning and design can be detected at the earliest opportunity to save time and cost, where additional construction materials and waste (in cases of project modification) are eliminated to improve environmental efficiency.”

Mandarin Enterprises is a leading textiles manufacturer in Hong Kong that brings world-class silks to clients on three continents. Traditional videoconferencing falls far short of showing the vibrancy of colours and the details in texture, patterns and colours that buyers have to see to make a decision about a product. Estella Kwan, Co-Founder and Managing Director, has made 5G-enabled 4K videoconferencing key to her business strategy to continue to communicate with clients in an era of restricted travel. The clients’ tactile experience of a silk product can be partially replicated by allowing them to see a dramatically higher level of detail, almost as if they had it in their hands.

5G Powers an NFT mission to the stars

From the textile arts to digital art, headlines have been much abuzz with stories about art’s uniqueness being elevated by the use of non-fungible tokens, known as NFTs. 3 Hong Kong is collaborating with the new media art group XCEPT to create a space-age experience for the people of Hong Kong: the 3. Orbstellar by XCEPT NFT Big Bang Immersive Experience Hall. All participants can simultaneously access the 5G network to upload their own digitally created planets. They will be combined into a collective NFT artwork, stored on the blockchain and beamed into space for the cosmos to see – and will also be available online for the people on Earth to enjoy.

Small companies, NGOs and consumers alike are benefitting from the arrival of practical 5G solutions. 3 Hong Kong is working to make sure that companies endeavouring to rise above the hardships posed by COVID-19 can make the most of 5G in their business.

Small companies, NGOs and consumers alike are benefitting from the arrival of practical 5G solutions.
Copied to clipboard
Downloading PDF. Please wait...

Superdrug’s super nurses head for the coronavirus pandemic front lines

Superdrug’s nurses are taking on the toughest COVID-19 has to offer by volunteering to serve on their nation’s front lines, fighting the disease.

Sewage secretions surrender COVID-19 secrets

COVID-19 may be invisible to the eye, but not to scientists working with Northumbrian Water to trace its spread by sampling wastewater.

COVID-19 containment: Watsons Water makes a mask-making miracle machine

Team Watsons Water got creative and worked round the clock to deliver life-saving PPE to Hongkongers.

LKSF delivers the sword and shield to medical professionals

The Li Ka Shing Foundation sprang into action early in the coronavirus pandemic to provide desperately needed personal protective equipment to medical staff.

Energised education at HK Electric Institute

High-performance management at HK Electric is supercharged through education delivered by a host of internal and external professors at the HK Electric Institute.

Passion for learning: A.S. Watson Group Retail Academy

The high-pressure crucible of Hong Kong’s shopping environment seems like it would leave little room for learning among retail professionals. But A.S. Watson’s commitment to higher performance creates opportunities for promising staff to elevate their game at its very own Retail Academy.

Grants from LKSF foster strategic, system-wide advances in knowledge

Tactical donations make a difference to help tackle one, or even several, problems. But a series of strategic donations will bolster the entire biological, bioengineering and biomedical establishment in Hong Kong with world-class platforms and integrative thinking.

Disappearing bees? 5G Bee-o-meter to the rescue

Vanishing bee populations are a major problem for global agriculture. 3 Austria’s 5G network is a key part of a tech solution that puts beekeepers ‘inside’ their hives to solve problems for Man’s invaluable helpers.

5G Ports: 2,000 tonnes of power from your desk

Port of Felixstowe’s 5G plans not only put the power of massive dockside cranes in the delicate digits of desk-driving derrick directors, but also connect a legion of sensors to help train AI that could save Hutchison Ports millions of pounds in maintenance efficiency.

焦點視角    |    10.2021

5G 接通香港至全球
開拓宇宙無疆界

5G 技術為我們的生活、工作、娛樂和人與人之間的聯繫帶來劃時代的轉變,世界各地正密鑼緊鼓提升網絡。在香港,已有不同行業藉著 3 香港的 5G 網絡與技術支援,不僅克服了新冠疫情所帶來的限制,更衝破地域界限,把服務提升至另一層次。

5G 成就夥伴協作

3 香港服務本港各大小企業與非牟利機構,不單為他們接駁5G網絡,還與客戶保持緊密合作,為他們量身訂製切合需求的專屬 5G 商業應用方案,甚至協助機構爭取政府資助,極速實踐接通全球的計劃。

為提高香港整體競爭力,香港通訊事務管理局辦公室撥款資助本地機構運用 5G 技術開拓業務發展。3 香港免費提供專業技術顧問服務,協助機構在申請撥款過程中解決難題以獲批資助,創出多贏局面。

舞蹈表演活現眼前

表演場地因新冠疫情肆虐而長時間關閉,重擊環球的表演團體,香港舞蹈團也不例外。舞蹈團借助 3 香港獨特的技術專長,在網上超高清直播精彩演出,讓全球觀眾感受到表演者對舞蹈的熱忱。

香港舞蹈團採用 3 香港的 5G 4K 直播方案,在疫情期間以視像授課,能接觸香港以至外地的學生。隨着限制放寬,舞蹈團甚至可現場直播高清舞蹈表演。藝術熱情結合科技專業知識,突破觀眾的地域界限。香港舞蹈團行政總監崔德煒博士表示:「5G 科技的應用帶來嶄新的靈感與契機,助業界拓展全新市場。」

3 香港免費提供專業技術顧問服務,協助機構解決難題,創出多贏局面。

機械顧客服務大使

置富產業信託旗下的天水圍「+WOO」嘉湖商場採用 3 香港的 5G 智慧機械人方案,在商場添置了一個具備語音功能和屏幕顯示、能夠即時回應顧客查詢的機械人。憑藉 3 香港的 5G 網絡,機械人可辨識多種語言,並極速分析及傳送數據,實時為顧客提供答案。機械人的服務更不限於流動資訊站,除提供指示外,更可引領顧客前往目的地。

機械人更不言休,在營業時間後會擔任保安員,在夜間巡邏商場,遇有異常情況,即透過 3 香港的網絡,將數據實時傳送至保安控制室。

一目瞭然

善用 5G 技術,建築業同樣可以節省大量資源。保華建業是香港其中一家最具規模的承建商,經常使用建築工程軟件,卻因檔案龐大而經常拖慢傳送速度。保華建業遂採用 3 香港的 5G 技術,加快辦公室與工地之間的數據傳輸,提升建築訊息模擬軟件的效能。將備有混合實境技術的頭戴裝置連接 3 香港的 5G 網絡後,工程人員即可在工地現場檢視立體建築模擬投影。

保華建業集團行政總裁(執行董事)李恒頴表示:「透過 5G 建築訊息模擬混合實境方案,工作人員可在工地現場檢視立體混合實境影像,即時比較建築設計與實際工地情況作碰撞分析、預視建築流程及體驗完工後的第一身視角,及早找出施工或原有設計問題,有效減低時間和成本,亦可減省修改工程的額外物料及廢料,達至環保效益。」

文華國際在香港的紡織業界享負盛名,專營高級絲綢,客戶遍佈三大洲。傳統視像會議鏡頭解像度低,未能清晰展示布料的亮麗色彩、質料圖案和紋理結構,客戶因而難以作出採購決定。文華國際聯合創辦人及董事總經理關德英將 3 香港的 5G 4K 視像會議方案結合至其商業策略,打破地域限制,在疫情中與客戶保持聯繫;而客戶彷如親手觸摸絲綢產品一樣,有助掌握布料的細節,加速採購決定。

5G 驅動非同質化代幣任務至宇宙星空

從衣物布料、畫布以至數碼藝術創作,5G 技術把採納非同質化代幣(NFT)的加密藝術市場發展推向高峰。糅合先進的 5G 網絡和科技,3 香港夥拍新媒體藝術團隊 XCEPT,創作全港首個「3‧Orbstellar by XCEPT 宇宙星空 NFT BIG BANG 體驗館」。參加者透過智能手機創作獨一無二的專屬行星,利用 3 香港的 5G 網絡同時間將行星的影像上傳至雲端平台,行星經歷宇宙大爆炸後,隨即以光和影投射於星際中,讓星際、網上與地球一同共賞。

實用的 5G 方案為中小企、非政府組織以至消費者帶來各種裨益,3 香港努力不懈,協助一眾機構共渡新冠疫情難關,運用 5G 技術為他們開創無限商機。

實用的 5G 方案為中小企、非政府組織以至消費者帶來各種裨益。
文章連結已複製
文章下載中,請稍侯...

Superdrug 護士
踏上抗疫前線

Superdrug 的護士團隊在新冠肺炎疫情期間主動請纓,在抗疫前線服務社群。

污水揭示新冠病毒蹤跡

新型冠狀病毒病無色無味,卻在 Northumbrian Water 與科研人員面前無所遁形。他們收集及化驗污水樣本,合力追蹤新冠病毒。

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房
化身抗疫口罩重鎮

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房成就不可能的任務,全速改裝成全天候口罩生產線,與香港市民同心抗疫。

李嘉誠基金會
裝備醫護上抗疫戰場

工欲善其事,必先利其器。新冠病毒病疫情爆發初期,醫護個人防護裝備嚴重短缺,李嘉誠基金會迅即全球搜羅,提供協助。

港燈學院啟迪人才

港燈學院廣邀公司內外名師為員工講授專門課程,培育人才,精益求精。

屈臣氏集團零售學院成就持續進修

香港零售業界競爭激烈,從業員要兼顧工作和進修實在困難。屈臣氏集團特別成立零售學院,發掘人才,助有潛質的員工提升競爭力。

李嘉誠基金會資助院校推動長遠科研發展

策略性資助有別於解決燃眉之急的慈濟捐獻,能為社會注入創新動力,藉著世界級科研平台刺激創意思維,推動生物科學、工程與醫學領域的長遠發展。

5G 蜜蜂計量器拯救消失蜂群

蜜蜂是自然界中極為重要的授粉者,近年蜂群數目持續下降,3 奧地利的 5G 網絡及技術方案,協助養蜂人監測蜂群動向,共同為全球岌岌可危的農業出一分力。

5G 港口:二千公噸的遙控力量

菲力斯杜港推行的 5G 港口計劃,不僅簡化工序,讓控制員在辦公室遙距操作重型岸邊吊機;系統更連接大量感應器,利用人工智能提升維修效率,為和記港口節省數以百萬英鎊的成本。