In Focus    |    03.2022

Do Believe the HyPe: AGIG is replacing natural gas with hydrogen

Plagued with calamities of Biblical proportion, ranging from extinction-level forest fires and devastating floods to the mass bleaching of their famed coral reefs in marine heatwaves, Australians are sensitive to extreme weather events and committed to doing their part to reduce and hopefully, someday, reverse the effects of climate change. Industry is being asked to do its part to reduce emissions and Australian Gas Infrastructure Group (AGIG), a CK Infrastructure (CKI) member company, is boldly moving to replace fossil fuels with zero-emission hydrogen.

Two projects go by the shared moniker of HyP: Hydrogen Parks. Pronounced “hype”, they aim to replace natural gas supply to homes and industry with clean burning hydrogen.

These hydrogen parks are no playgrounds, but rather create hydrogen to blend with natural gas to produce an even cleaner fuel for homes and factories. The first project is Hydrogen Park South Australia (HyP SA), located at the Tonsley Innovation District. Its establishment was supported with an A$4.9 million grant from the state Government of South Australia to promote research and testing in hydrogen supply. The official opening on 19 May 2021 hosted the Premier of South Australia, The Hon Steven Marshall and the South Australian Minister for Energy and Mining, The Hon Dan van Holst Pellekaan, showcasing the state- and national-level importance of the project.

HyP SA is supplied with renewable energy from the grid, which is used to create up to 20kg of hydrogen an hour, to be blended into the existing natural gas network and supplying more than 700 homes. Production is adjustable depending on the demand from households and industry, with up to 40kg of storage on-site when supply exceeds demand. Production can be ramped up or down depending on the electricity supply from wind and solar sources as the wind blows or the sun shines. Either way, the whole project vents only oxygen, an entirely benign emission.

Lead and they will follow

HyP SA isn’t the only one of its kind, but rather the prototype from which more will follow. The HyP Gladstone project has been similarly supported by the Queensland Government. They plan to begin pushing blended hydrogen through their gas pipes later this year, aiming to supply 770 homes and businesses across their entire gas network with a 10% blend – to start.

AGIG’s leadership is recognised through research partnerships across the country. The Dampier to Bunbury Natural Gas Pipeline is also the recipient of a grant from the state Government of Western Australia for a feasibility study on blending hydrogen into the pipeline for use by industry in Perth and other major communities.

These hydrogen parks are no playgrounds, but rather create hydrogen to blend with natural gas to produce an even cleaner fuel for homes and factories.

The Australian Hydrogen Centre is the locus of research for completing comprehensive studies looking to decarbonise gas in Victoria and South Australia, with a focus on implementing 10% hydrogen into gas networks and converting gas networks to 100% renewable gas. It is a collaboration between AGIG and the federal government Australian Renewable Energy Agency and, in addition to accelerating learning from experiences at HyP SA, it will build public awareness about Australia’s hydrogen future.

Collaboration with other world leaders complements the cooperation with Australian government agencies. Executives and engineers from AGIG share experiences with, for example, Northern Gas Networks, a leader in the hydrogen economy of the UK – and a CKI member company. While Australians are feeling some of the hardest blows of an unpredictable climate, they know they are not alone. AGIG is their ally, exploring how the whole nation can do its part and encouraging people to just believe the HyP.

Hydrogen Park South Australia isn’t the only one of its kind, but rather the prototype from which more will follow.
Copied to clipboard
Downloading PDF. Please wait...

Superdrug’s super nurses head for the coronavirus pandemic front lines

Superdrug’s nurses are taking on the toughest COVID-19 has to offer by volunteering to serve on their nation’s front lines, fighting the disease.

Sewage secretions surrender COVID-19 secrets

COVID-19 may be invisible to the eye, but not to scientists working with Northumbrian Water to trace its spread by sampling wastewater.

COVID-19 containment: Watsons Water makes a mask-making miracle machine

Team Watsons Water got creative and worked round the clock to deliver life-saving PPE to Hongkongers.

LKSF delivers the sword and shield to medical professionals

The Li Ka Shing Foundation sprang into action early in the coronavirus pandemic to provide desperately needed personal protective equipment to medical staff.

Energised education at HK Electric Institute

High-performance management at HK Electric is supercharged through education delivered by a host of internal and external professors at the HK Electric Institute.

Passion for learning: A.S. Watson Group Retail Academy

The high-pressure crucible of Hong Kong’s shopping environment seems like it would leave little room for learning among retail professionals. But A.S. Watson’s commitment to higher performance creates opportunities for promising staff to elevate their game at its very own Retail Academy.

Grants from LKSF foster strategic, system-wide advances in knowledge

Tactical donations make a difference to help tackle one, or even several, problems. But a series of strategic donations will bolster the entire biological, bioengineering and biomedical establishment in Hong Kong with world-class platforms and integrative thinking.

Disappearing bees? 5G Bee-o-meter to the rescue

Vanishing bee populations are a major problem for global agriculture. 3 Austria’s 5G network is a key part of a tech solution that puts beekeepers ‘inside’ their hives to solve problems for Man’s invaluable helpers.

5G Ports: 2,000 tonnes of power from your desk

Port of Felixstowe’s 5G plans not only put the power of massive dockside cranes in the delicate digits of desk-driving derrick directors, but also connect a legion of sensors to help train AI that could save Hutchison Ports millions of pounds in maintenance efficiency.

5G connects Hong Kong to the world and the universe

5G is a platform to build dreams on and 3 Hong Kong is helping dreamers to climb on board. It works with small businesses and the community to help them overcome COVID-19 challenges and to unite their artistic vision, with an eye on the stars.

Port of Felixstowe’s hydrogen revolution drives UK’s net zero goals

The Port of Felixstowe is leading the hydrogen revolution building in the UK. It aims to transform not only its own operations but the regional eco-economy too. First, the Port – then trains, trucks and homes will follow.

Eversholt Rail is empowering a completely carbon-free UK railway

The UK aims to decarbonise the entire rail network. Eversholt Rail, a UK rail company, is leading the way in providing zero-emission hydrogen-powered trains for the UK. Trainspotting is about to get a whole lot greener.

焦點視角    |    03.2022

AGIG 以「氫」為本

澳洲幅員遼濶,天然資源豐富,同時卻承受各種極端天氣帶來的嚴重威脅,摧毀性的山火與水災、熱浪引致珊瑚白化等生態危機日趨嚴峻。面對可敬可畏的大自然,澳洲積極回應,各行各業也努力減排,期望最終能應對氣候變化的影響。長江基建位於澳洲的成員公司 Australian Gas Infrastructure Group(AGIG)也迅速行動,率先以零碳排放的氫氣取代傳統化石燃料供氣。

AGIG 旗下兩大氫氣園項目的目標一致,致力以潔淨能源氫氣取代家居與工業用戶原有的天然氣供應。

這些氫氣園產出的氫氣混合天然氣,為家居與工業用戶提供潔淨能源。首個項目是位於Tonsley 創新區的南澳洲氫氣園,由南澳洲省政府撥款 490 萬澳元資助興建,旨在促進氫氣供應的研究與測試。項目於 2021 年 5 月 19 日正式啟用,由南澳洲省長馬紹雲與能源及礦業部長佩萊坎主持揭幕儀式,足證國家與省政府對項目的重視。

南澳洲氫氣園由電網提供可再生能源,每小時可生產多達 20 公斤氫氣,再混入目前的天然氣配氣網絡中,向超過 700 個家居用戶供氣。氫氣園的產量視乎家居及工業用戶的需求調節,當供過於求時,設施可貯存最多 40 公斤剩餘氫氣;產能同時也可因應風力或太陽能供電情況而調節高低。無論是那種情況,項目只會排放無污染的潔淨氧氣。

行業先鋒

南澳洲氫氣園雖然並非獨一無二,但已成為同類項目仿效的典範。AGIG 另一項目格拉德斯通氫氣園同樣得到昆士蘭省政府支持,計劃於今年稍後時間開始透過輸氣管道提供氫氣與天然氣混合氣體,預計初期可向網絡覆蓋之 770 個家居與商業用戶供應一成混合氣體。

AGIG 在全澳各地主導的多項合作研究項目亦備受推崇,旗下 Dampier 至 Bunbury 的天然氣輸氣管道獲西澳洲政府撥款資助,在柏斯與其他主要社區進行向工業用戶供應混合氫氣的可行性研究。

氫氣園產出的氫氣混合天然氣,為家居與工業用戶提供潔淨的能源。

澳洲氫氣中心是全面研究維多利亞省與南澳洲減排燃氣的基地,聚焦如何在輸氣網絡中混入一成氫氣,並將整個網絡轉化為提供百分百可再生燃氣能源。中心由 AGIG 與澳洲聯邦政府可再生能源局共同合作,參考南澳洲氫氣園的經驗,向公眾推廣澳洲的氫能未來。

此外,AGIG 與其他國際業界翹楚的協作經驗,包括與同為長江基建成員的英國氫氣先鋒 Northern Gas Networks 之交流,亦令 AGIG 與澳洲政府機關的合作更順利。氣候不似預期,但澳洲並非孤軍作戰,AGIG 與全國上下一心,致力透過推動以「氫」為本,延緩氣候變化的衝擊。

南澳洲氫氣園的成功,成為同類項目仿效的典範。
文章連結已複製
文章下載中,請稍侯...

Superdrug 護士
踏上抗疫前線

Superdrug 的護士團隊在新冠肺炎疫情期間主動請纓,在抗疫前線服務社群。

污水揭示新冠病毒蹤跡

新型冠狀病毒病無色無味,卻在 Northumbrian Water 與科研人員面前無所遁形。他們收集及化驗污水樣本,合力追蹤新冠病毒。

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房
化身抗疫口罩重鎮

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房成就不可能的任務,全速改裝成全天候口罩生產線,與香港市民同心抗疫。

李嘉誠基金會
裝備醫護上抗疫戰場

工欲善其事,必先利其器。新冠病毒病疫情爆發初期,醫護個人防護裝備嚴重短缺,李嘉誠基金會迅即全球搜羅,提供協助。

港燈學院啟迪人才

港燈學院廣邀公司內外名師為員工講授專門課程,培育人才,精益求精。

屈臣氏集團零售學院成就持續進修

香港零售業界競爭激烈,從業員要兼顧工作和進修實在困難。屈臣氏集團特別成立零售學院,發掘人才,助有潛質的員工提升競爭力。

李嘉誠基金會資助院校推動長遠科研發展

策略性資助有別於解決燃眉之急的慈濟捐獻,能為社會注入創新動力,藉著世界級科研平台刺激創意思維,推動生物科學、工程與醫學領域的長遠發展。

5G 蜜蜂計量器拯救消失蜂群

蜜蜂是自然界中極為重要的授粉者,近年蜂群數目持續下降,3 奧地利的 5G 網絡及技術方案,協助養蜂人監測蜂群動向,共同為全球岌岌可危的農業出一分力。

5G 港口:二千公噸的遙控力量

菲力斯杜港推行的 5G 港口計劃,不僅簡化工序,讓控制員在辦公室遙距操作重型岸邊吊機;系統更連接大量感應器,利用人工智能提升維修效率,為和記港口節省數以百萬英鎊的成本。

5G 接通香港至全球
開拓宇宙無疆界

3 香港以 5G 技術作最強後盾,協助中小企、藝術團體以至社群克服新冠疫情的重重障礙,突破地域甚至宇宙界限,全力助企業開創未來。

菲力斯杜港氫能革命成就英國零碳目標

菲力斯杜港肩負英國氫能革命的重任,一方面革新港口業務操作,另一方面積極推動區內生態經濟轉型,由港口起步,再逐步推展至鐵路和陸路運輸以至家居應用。

Eversholt Rail 推動英國鐵路實踐淨零排放

英國鐵路車輛租賃公司 Eversholt Rail 積極引領淨零排放的氫動力列車發展,為當地提供更環保的交通選擇,全力配合英國實踐全國鐵路網絡淨零排放的目標。