In Focus    |    03.2022

Eversholt Rail is empowering a completely carbon-free UK railway

The UK is super serious about its net zero carbon commitment and Eversholt Rail, a CK Infrastructure (CKI) member company, is doing its bit to support this national objective. By working with Alstom Transport, a world leader in hydrogen train technology deployment, Eversholt Rail is on course to introduce new zero-emission trains to the world’s first – and oldest – railway system.

Diesel out!

The British invented railways and have always strived to stay at the cutting edge of railway development. National plans call for phasing out diesel-only trains – 29% of the industry total – by 2040 or earlier. Eversholt Rail owns almost 3,400 rail vehicles, a significant share of the UK’s passenger and freight rolling stock. It doesn’t operate them, but rather leases them to rail operators across the country. It plays a key role in conducting research and advising clients on how to meet their corporate goals under national priorities.

In that capacity, Eversholt Rail is working with Alstom Transport to develop the UK’s first-ever trains powered by hydrogen fuel cells, building on the companies’ combined experience of hydrogen propulsion technology and the successful introduction of new train fleets. Rather than a traditional Thomas the Tank Engine model with a single engine pulling train cars, they use a “multiple unit”: a train made up of several vehicles with traction power distributed among them.

Hydrogen in!

While the electrification of a significant proportion of the UK rail network is part of the zero-emission plan, it isn’t cost-effective or practical in all instances. Zero-emission medium-distance train journeys can be driven more efficiently by hydrogen-powered multiple units. Electrification entails significant costs for the installation of the overhead line equipment from which electric trains draw their power and takes routes out of commission during the installation process. Bi-mode trains that run on diesel and switch to electricity on electrified tracks are only a partial solution. They emit particulates, carbon dioxide and other gases when in diesel mode and have higher maintenance and capital costs than pure electric trains.

Hydrogen fuel cell trains can replace diesel trains without the operator being forced to suspend operations, lose revenue and upset customers on the affected routes. Also, compared with bi-mode trains, they are truly zero-emission when fuelled with green hydrogen produced from renewable sources of electricity. Like pure electric trains, they also have lower maintenance costs thanks to their inherently simpler construction.

Eversholt Rail is working with Alstom Transport to develop the UK’s first-ever trains powered by hydrogen fuel cells.

Customised design

Eversholt Rail is aiming to sign the final contract (following a 2021 MOU) for 10 brand-new hydrogen trains this year. Each train comprises three vehicles. The deal is much more than a buy-then-lease arrangement. Eversholt Rail and Alstom will work closely together, sharing technical and commercial information that will be needed to provide a hydrogen train optimised for the unique needs of the UK railway system.

For example, the UK’s railway tunnels are smaller than Europe’s, with less clearance for the tops of trains. This means that special care must be taken in installing equipment mounted on the train roof, while still maximising the experience gained from the design of Alstom’s hydrogen trains for Germany, Italy and France. Eversholt Rail’s expertise in working with England and Scotland’s rail operators will be invaluable. The interior design and layout will need to be customised for these experienced railway companies, using their input to ensure that the trains suit their needs.

Safety is, of course, of paramount importance. Eversholt Rail and Alstom will work closely with the UK regulators to pioneer the introduction of safe trains particularly suited to the UK market. An extensive programme of testing and approvals is a must.

Eversholt Rail’s financing and asset management expertise will also be needed as they work with customers to develop compelling business cases for the introduction of hydrogen trains to replace ageing diesel fleets. There is a strong government focus on achieving value for money from investment in rail, and the new fleet offers excellent opportunities for train operators to enhance the passenger service experience while achieving zero-emission goals.

Take the H Train: They are truly zero-emission when fuelled with green hydrogen produced from renewable sources of electricity.

More than clean air

The Alstom Aventra platform on which the new rail cars will be built is regarded as the “fastest, smartest, and most economical platform in modern rail”. Fastest: in terms of acceleration, as trains can get up to maximum speed faster and reduce overall journey times. Smartest: units will have the latest in diagnostic sensors on board to detect when and where maintenance is needed, making operations more efficient. Economical: the cost of maintenance will be the lowest in the business. The market has recognised the potential with 2,665 Aventra electric vehicles already on order for operation on the UK network.

As the rest of the nation decarbonises, rail must play its part and Eversholt Rail will be on the cutting edge of empowering rail companies to get on board the green train to a cleaner, greener future.

Copied to clipboard
Downloading PDF. Please wait...

Superdrug’s super nurses head for the coronavirus pandemic front lines

Superdrug’s nurses are taking on the toughest COVID-19 has to offer by volunteering to serve on their nation’s front lines, fighting the disease.

Sewage secretions surrender COVID-19 secrets

COVID-19 may be invisible to the eye, but not to scientists working with Northumbrian Water to trace its spread by sampling wastewater.

COVID-19 containment: Watsons Water makes a mask-making miracle machine

Team Watsons Water got creative and worked round the clock to deliver life-saving PPE to Hongkongers.

LKSF delivers the sword and shield to medical professionals

The Li Ka Shing Foundation sprang into action early in the coronavirus pandemic to provide desperately needed personal protective equipment to medical staff.

Energised education at HK Electric Institute

High-performance management at HK Electric is supercharged through education delivered by a host of internal and external professors at the HK Electric Institute.

Passion for learning: A.S. Watson Group Retail Academy

The high-pressure crucible of Hong Kong’s shopping environment seems like it would leave little room for learning among retail professionals. But A.S. Watson’s commitment to higher performance creates opportunities for promising staff to elevate their game at its very own Retail Academy.

Grants from LKSF foster strategic, system-wide advances in knowledge

Tactical donations make a difference to help tackle one, or even several, problems. But a series of strategic donations will bolster the entire biological, bioengineering and biomedical establishment in Hong Kong with world-class platforms and integrative thinking.

Disappearing bees? 5G Bee-o-meter to the rescue

Vanishing bee populations are a major problem for global agriculture. 3 Austria’s 5G network is a key part of a tech solution that puts beekeepers ‘inside’ their hives to solve problems for Man’s invaluable helpers.

5G Ports: 2,000 tonnes of power from your desk

Port of Felixstowe’s 5G plans not only put the power of massive dockside cranes in the delicate digits of desk-driving derrick directors, but also connect a legion of sensors to help train AI that could save Hutchison Ports millions of pounds in maintenance efficiency.

5G connects Hong Kong to the world and the universe

5G is a platform to build dreams on and 3 Hong Kong is helping dreamers to climb on board. It works with small businesses and the community to help them overcome COVID-19 challenges and to unite their artistic vision, with an eye on the stars.

Port of Felixstowe’s hydrogen revolution drives UK’s net zero goals

The Port of Felixstowe is leading the hydrogen revolution building in the UK. It aims to transform not only its own operations but the regional eco-economy too. First, the Port – then trains, trucks and homes will follow.

Do Believe the HyPe: AGIG is replacing natural gas with hydrogen

Australian Gas Infrastructure Group is proving itself a public ally by greening the gas supply of Australian homes and taking the first steps to deliver 100% emission-free hydrogen to replace gas.

焦點視角    |    03.2022

Eversholt Rail 推動英國鐵路實踐淨零排放

英國非常重視淨零排放,為配合國家減排目標,長江基建集團成員公司 Eversholt Rail 與全球頂尖的氫能鐵路車輛技術公司阿爾斯通合作,為全世界最歷史悠久的鐵路系統引進全新的淨零排放列車。

告別柴油

英國人發明鐵路,一直致力領導鐵路運輸發展。根據全國規劃,期望可在 2040 年或之前逐步淘汰佔業內 29% 的柴油火車。Eversholt Rail 是英國三大鐵路車輛租賃公司之一,擁有約共 3,400 輛列車,佔全英大部分客貨運鐵路車輛,所有列車均出租予全國各鐵路營運商。公司主力研究並為客戶提供建議,協助他們按國家既定方向達成企業目標。

在減排大前題下,Eversholt Rail 與阿爾斯通攜手合作,結合雙方在氫動力科技與引進新列車車隊的豐富經驗,開發英國史無前例、由氫燃料電池驅動的氫動力列車。摒棄傳統只靠單引擎火車頭拉動制式,氫動力列車改用「多車卡」模式,即列車由多個具備牽引力的車卡組成驅動。

氫氣登場

作為淨零排放計劃的其中一環,英國大部分鐵路網絡都會轉為電氣化;然而,並非所有情況都合乎成本效益或實際可行。鐵路電氣化須裝設高架電纜為電氣化火車供電,牽涉巨額成本,安裝期間更需要暫停有關路線。而雙制式列車一般由柴油驅動,當駛至電氣化路段時會轉為電力驅動,但都只是權宜方案,因為這種列車由柴油驅動時會排放微粒、二氧化碳和其他氣體,而且維修與資本成本也較純電氣化火車為高。採用多車卡氫動力的中距離車程零排放列車,則在淨零排放方面可達到較佳效益。

以氫燃料電池驅動的氫動力列車取代柴油火車,營運商毋須被迫暫停運作,不會影響收益之餘,更可避免服務延誤引起顧客不便。與雙制式火車相比,氫燃料由可再生能源產生,是真正的淨零排放。此外,氫氣列車之構造與電氣化火車同樣相對簡單,因此維修成本也較低。

Eversholt Rail 與阿爾斯通攜手合作,開發英國史無前例、由氫燃料電池驅動的氫動力列車。

專屬設計

Eversholt Rail 今年的目標,是為於2021年簽署諒解備忘錄的10列全新氫動力列車簽訂最終合約。每輛列車將由三組車卡組成,合約不僅提供先買後租之安排,Eversholt Rail 與阿爾斯通將緊密合作,分享技術與商業資訊,以建造能切合英國鐵路系統獨特需要的氫動力列車。

例如,英國的鐵路隧道較其他歐洲地區細小,車頂間隙也較狹窄。因此,安裝車頂設備時須格外留神,同時應盡量借鏡阿爾斯通為德國、意大利與法國設計氫動力列車的經驗。此外,Eversholt Rail 與英格蘭和蘇格蘭鐵路營運商長久合作,對客戶的車廂設計與佈局要求瞭如指掌,能確保列車內部的設計切合英國鐵路營運商的要求。

安全考慮當然是頭等大事,大型測試計劃與審批必不可少!Eversholt Rail 和阿爾斯通將與英國監管當局緊密合作,優先引進特別適合英國市場的安全列車。

Eversholt Rail 的融資與資產管理專長,亦有利為鐵路營運商設計合適的業務專案,引入氫動力列車以取代老化的柴油火車隊。英國政府銳意令鐵路投資物有所值,而新車隊將為鐵路營運商提供難能可貴的機會,提升客戶服務體驗兼達致淨零排放目標。

氫動力列車的氫燃料由可再生能源產生,是真正的淨零排放。

不止於清新空氣

阿爾斯通的 Aventra 型號獲譽為「現代鐵路中最高速、最高智能與最具經濟效益的列車」。最高速 — 列車起動時可更快達至最高時速,縮減整體車程;最高智能 — 列車車卡內置最先進的感應器,能偵測何時及那個部位需要維修,令維修過程更見效率;最具經濟效益 — 維修成本為業內最低。Aventra 型號列車的發展潛力得到市場認可,整個英國鐵路網絡已訂購了 2,665 列 Aventra 電動列車。

隨着全英國各界推行減排脫碳,鐵路運輸業亦責無旁貸,Eversholt Rail 將繼續推動環保列車的進程,與鐵路營運商一起邁向更清新、更潔淨的未來。

文章連結已複製
文章下載中,請稍侯...

Superdrug 護士
踏上抗疫前線

Superdrug 的護士團隊在新冠肺炎疫情期間主動請纓,在抗疫前線服務社群。

污水揭示新冠病毒蹤跡

新型冠狀病毒病無色無味,卻在 Northumbrian Water 與科研人員面前無所遁形。他們收集及化驗污水樣本,合力追蹤新冠病毒。

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房
化身抗疫口罩重鎮

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房成就不可能的任務,全速改裝成全天候口罩生產線,與香港市民同心抗疫。

李嘉誠基金會
裝備醫護上抗疫戰場

工欲善其事,必先利其器。新冠病毒病疫情爆發初期,醫護個人防護裝備嚴重短缺,李嘉誠基金會迅即全球搜羅,提供協助。

港燈學院啟迪人才

港燈學院廣邀公司內外名師為員工講授專門課程,培育人才,精益求精。

屈臣氏集團零售學院成就持續進修

香港零售業界競爭激烈,從業員要兼顧工作和進修實在困難。屈臣氏集團特別成立零售學院,發掘人才,助有潛質的員工提升競爭力。

李嘉誠基金會資助院校推動長遠科研發展

策略性資助有別於解決燃眉之急的慈濟捐獻,能為社會注入創新動力,藉著世界級科研平台刺激創意思維,推動生物科學、工程與醫學領域的長遠發展。

5G 蜜蜂計量器拯救消失蜂群

蜜蜂是自然界中極為重要的授粉者,近年蜂群數目持續下降,3 奧地利的 5G 網絡及技術方案,協助養蜂人監測蜂群動向,共同為全球岌岌可危的農業出一分力。

5G 港口:二千公噸的遙控力量

菲力斯杜港推行的 5G 港口計劃,不僅簡化工序,讓控制員在辦公室遙距操作重型岸邊吊機;系統更連接大量感應器,利用人工智能提升維修效率,為和記港口節省數以百萬英鎊的成本。

5G 接通香港至全球
開拓宇宙無疆界

3 香港以 5G 技術作最強後盾,協助中小企、藝術團體以至社群克服新冠疫情的重重障礙,突破地域甚至宇宙界限,全力助企業開創未來。

菲力斯杜港氫能革命成就英國零碳目標

菲力斯杜港肩負英國氫能革命的重任,一方面革新港口業務操作,另一方面積極推動區內生態經濟轉型,由港口起步,再逐步推展至鐵路和陸路運輸以至家居應用。

AGIG 以「氫」為本

Australian Gas Infrastructure Group 致力成為澳洲的綠色新力量,期望最終以百分百零碳排放的氫氣代替天然氣,向當地家庭供應更環保的燃氣。