In Focus    |    04.2021

Energised education at HK Electric Institute

HK Electric is the sole provider of electricity to more than 580,000 customers on Hong Kong and Lamma Islands. If the power went out, then Hong Kong Island would grind to a halt, causing huge economic damage affecting the livelihoods of everyone, from humble fishmongers to the heights of Asian finance and banking. Constant improvement through learning and training – through its own custom-designed programmes – is how HK Electric ensures that Hong Kong’s energy keeps buzzing.

Electricity provision must be ultra-reliable – and HK Electric delivers. Since 1997, it has consistently achieved 99.999% reliability. In 2020, it transcended Six Sigma levels of reliability to achieve over 99.9999% (count the nines!) reliability – less than 0.5 minutes of outage exposure per year per customer. A challenging socioeconomic environment notwithstanding, HK Electric’s performance saw them join an elite global group of electricity providers which have mastered this level of reliability. That consistency doesn’t happen by accident – top-notch engineers, managers and executives must be at their very best in the service of customers. A key component of that extraordinary performance is the HK Electric Institute (the ‘Institute’).

In 2014, a strategic review determined the critical success factors for HK Electric in the 21st century, including the creation of the Institute. A Steering Committee of engineering general managers convened to create a new type of educational experience suited to the needs of the enterprise. Moving at lightning speed, they ensured that the Institute opened its doors in October that year.

Experts in the classroom

The Institute draws on a range of academic and business leaders from inside and outside HK Electric. The structure mirrors that of a university, with the Managing Director of HK Electric, Wan Chi Tin, serving as the Chancellor of the Institute. The incumbent Dean of the Institute is Wilson Kwok (HK Electric’s Head of Technical Services), who presides over three faculties: Transmission & Distribution, Generation, and Information Technology, all under the management of the Operations Director, Francis Cheng.

The Institute works with professors from local universities, where engineering classes are held. Professors and HK Electric leaders co-teach undergraduate and Master-level courses in areas like High Voltage Equipment for Power Systems Networks, Transmission Gas Insulated Switchgears and more at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU).

Top-notch engineers, managers and executives must be at their very best in the service of customers.
The programme nurtures future industry leaders who are crucial to advancing the urban development of the Belt and Road regions.

Belt and Road initiative

Beyond Hong Kong, HK Electric shares its expertise with partners in the ‘Belt and Road’ countries across Asia, Europe and Africa. Since 2018, the Silk Road International School of Engineering, jointly set up by PolyU and Xi’an Jiaotong University in Mainland China, has partnered with the State Grid Corporation of China and HK Electric to organise an annual programme: ‘The Belt and Road Advanced Professional Development Programme’. This public and private sector collaboration has a mission to support the Belt and Road initiative by strengthening relations, knowledge exchange and collaboration among the Belt and Road countries and regions. It is also a platform for technology exchange between industry professionals and academics, aiming to enhance the electricity infrastructure of the Belt and Road participating countries and regions.

This cross-regional and multicultural university–industry collaboration is the first of its kind in the Mainland and Hong Kong. It has attracted more than 200 industry leaders and professionals in its three years of operation. Power and energy managers have established a strong communication platform through over 5,300 hours of intense interaction.

Additionally, the programme nurtures future industry leaders who are crucial to advancing the urban development of the Belt and Road regions involved. HK Electric’s own engineers have shared their operational experience and insights with other participants.

Learn and grow

Participating in Institute classes and the Belt and Road programmes is a proven path to growth for HK Electric professionals – 43% of Directors and General Managers and 57% of Department and Section Heads are graduates of in-house trainee programmes. Take, for example, Messrs Chiu, Chow, Mak and Pau.

Chiu Ho Fai and Chow Wing Chuen are talented professionals in distribution equipment but lacked experience with transmission equipment. After graduating from the Institute programmes, they were able to gain experience in transmission leading to promotion and qualification as 275kV Authorised Persons (a qualification in HK Electric that allows the practitioner to carry out work on transmission systems). Mr Chiu has also represented HK Electric, participating in the Belt and Road programme in 2019.

Messrs Mak Fong Chuen and Pau Yik Pan saw their Institute studies accelerate their rise from new graduates to Senior Authorised Persons (for 22kV and 11kV systems) and then to masters in the handling and operation of distribution systems and equipment.

These are just four of hundreds of the Institute graduates that have seen their career growth advanced through skill development under the instruction of HK Electric and academic power professors. The Institute demands a large commitment of executive and professional time and resources, but that commitment is amply rewarded through HK Electric’s delivery of a world-class power supply to the people of Hong Kong.

Participating in the Institute classes and the Belt and Road programmes is a proven path to growth for HK Electric professionals.
Copied to clipboard
Downloading PDF. Please wait...

Superdrug’s super nurses head for the coronavirus pandemic front lines

Superdrug’s nurses are taking on the toughest COVID-19 has to offer by volunteering to serve on their nation’s front lines, fighting the disease.

Sewage secretions surrender COVID-19 secrets

COVID-19 may be invisible to the eye, but not to scientists working with Northumbrian Water to trace its spread by sampling wastewater.

COVID-19 containment: Watsons Water makes a mask-making miracle machine

Team Watsons Water got creative and worked round the clock to deliver life-saving PPE to Hongkongers.

LKSF delivers the sword and shield to medical professionals

The Li Ka Shing Foundation sprang into action early in the coronavirus pandemic to provide desperately needed personal protective equipment to medical staff.

Passion for learning: A.S. Watson Group Retail Academy

The high-pressure crucible of Hong Kong’s shopping environment seems like it would leave little room for learning among retail professionals. But A.S. Watson’s commitment to higher performance creates opportunities for promising staff to elevate their game at its very own Retail Academy.

Grants from LKSF foster strategic, system-wide advances in knowledge

Tactical donations make a difference to help tackle one, or even several, problems. But a series of strategic donations will bolster the entire biological, bioengineering and biomedical establishment in Hong Kong with world-class platforms and integrative thinking.

Disappearing bees? 5G Bee-o-meter to the rescue

Vanishing bee populations are a major problem for global agriculture. 3 Austria’s 5G network is a key part of a tech solution that puts beekeepers ‘inside’ their hives to solve problems for Man’s invaluable helpers.

5G Ports: 2,000 tonnes of power from your desk

Port of Felixstowe’s 5G plans not only put the power of massive dockside cranes in the delicate digits of desk-driving derrick directors, but also connect a legion of sensors to help train AI that could save Hutchison Ports millions of pounds in maintenance efficiency.

5G connects Hong Kong to the world and the universe

5G is a platform to build dreams on and 3 Hong Kong is helping dreamers to climb on board. It works with small businesses and the community to help them overcome COVID-19 challenges and to unite their artistic vision, with an eye on the stars.

焦點視角    |    04.2021

港燈學院啟迪人才

香港高樓大廈林立,生活節奏急速,商業與民生活動有賴可靠電力供應。供電服務一旦受阻,市民生活及商業金融運作定必大受影響。多年來,港燈為香港島及南丫島超過 58 萬用戶提供高度可靠的電力服務。公司重視人才發展,專業培訓推陳出新,確保技術和業務運作得以持續發展。

自 1997 年起,港燈一直維持 99.999%(俗稱「五條 9」)的供電可靠度。儘管香港經濟及社會在 2020 年受到新冠肺炎疫情嚴重打擊,仍無阻港燈刷新供電可靠紀錄,在年內達到超過 99.9999% (「六條 9」)的驕人成績,平均每名客戶非計劃停電時間少於半分鐘。超卓表現的背後有賴優秀的工程師、管理層與所有員工上下一心,竭力為客戶提供最佳服務。而港燈學院(「學院」)的專業培訓,正是締造傑出表現的關鍵。

在 2014 年的一次策略檢討中,港燈決定成立「港燈工程學院」,從此進一步鞏固了公司在 21 世紀成功向前邁進的基石。由多名工程總經理組成的督導委員會旋即召開會議,因應企業需要設計及制訂培訓課程,並在同年 10 月開課。至 2021 年初,港燈工程學院正名為「港燈學院」。

提攜後進

學院廣邀公司內外的學術與業界領袖授課,並參照大學架構,設有輸配電、發電與資訊科技三個專門學系。港燈董事總經理尹志田擔任校長,院長是輸配電科技術服務主管郭偉信。而學院的督導委員會主席、港燈營運董事鄭祖瀛,則統領公司各科部總經理,負責學院的整體管理。

學院課程由香港理工大學(理大)教授和港燈工程師聯合講授,學員需在理大校舍上課。其中學士與碩士課程涵蓋多個範疇,包括電網高壓設備、高壓氣體絕緣開關裝置等。

超卓表現的背後有賴優秀的工程師、管理層與所有員工上下一心,竭力為客戶提供最佳服務。
絲綢之路國際工程學院的課程肩負培育未來業界領袖的重任,對推動「一帶一路」地區城市化發展十分重要。

從香港至「一帶一路」

培育本地電力工程師以外,港燈又為橫跨歐亞及非洲的「一帶一路」沿線國家及地區的電力行業作出貢獻。由理大與西安交通大學合辦的絲綢之路國際工程學院,自 2018 年起一直與中國國家電網公司和港燈合作,每年舉辦「電力能源高管人才發展計劃」。此項校企合作旨在加強「一帶一路」沿線國家與地區在電力及能源方面的知識交流與合作,為各國或地區的高等教育界和電力行業提供技術交流平台,提升各地的電力系統基建和人才管理。

絲綢之路國際工程學院是中國內地與香港首個跨地區的多元文化校企合作項目,運作三年來共吸引了超過 200 位業界領袖與專業人士參與,進行逾5,300 小時的緊密聯繫互動,為電力與能源業專才建立一個強大網絡。

此外,課程也肩負培育未來業界領袖的重任,對推動「一帶一路」地區城市化發展十分重要,港燈的工程師當然也樂與其他參加者交流營運心得與見解。

學習求進

港燈學院與絲綢之路國際工程學院對提拔具潛質員工的成效顯著,是理想的晉升階梯 — 43% 的董事與總經理,以及 57% 的部門與組别主管,都是內部見習工程師訓練計劃的畢業生。

趙皓輝與周詠銓是配電設備的優秀專才,但對輸電設備的認識不深。修畢學院課程後,他們累積了輸電方面的經驗,因而晉身「275 千伏授權電力工程人員」,獲授權處理及操作港燈輸電系統的工作;而趙皓輝更是 2019 年絲綢之路國際工程學院的「電力能源高管人才發展計劃」的港燈代表之一。

例如,麥晃銓與包亦斌兩位畢業生完成學院課程後,亦獲升格為「高級授權電力工程人員(22 千伏與 11 千伏系統)」,及後更負責處理及操作配電系統的設備。

成立至今,港燈學院培育了數以百計如上述四位一樣優秀的電力工程人才。在港燈與一眾電力工程科技專家的提攜下,各學員的技巧不但得以提升,他們更取得晉升機會發展事業。學院承載著港燈行政管理與專業人員投放的心血、時間與資源,冀培育出更多優秀工程人才,為客戶提供專業、可靠及達世界級的優質電力服務。

港燈工程學院對提拔具潛質員工的成效顯著,是理想的晉升階梯。
文章連結已複製
文章下載中,請稍侯...

Superdrug 護士
踏上抗疫前線

Superdrug 的護士團隊在新冠肺炎疫情期間主動請纓,在抗疫前線服務社群。

污水揭示新冠病毒蹤跡

新型冠狀病毒病無色無味,卻在 Northumbrian Water 與科研人員面前無所遁形。他們收集及化驗污水樣本,合力追蹤新冠病毒。

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房
化身抗疫口罩重鎮

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房成就不可能的任務,全速改裝成全天候口罩生產線,與香港市民同心抗疫。

李嘉誠基金會
裝備醫護上抗疫戰場

工欲善其事,必先利其器。新冠病毒病疫情爆發初期,醫護個人防護裝備嚴重短缺,李嘉誠基金會迅即全球搜羅,提供協助。

屈臣氏集團零售學院成就持續進修

香港零售業界競爭激烈,從業員要兼顧工作和進修實在困難。屈臣氏集團特別成立零售學院,發掘人才,助有潛質的員工提升競爭力。

李嘉誠基金會資助院校推動長遠科研發展

策略性資助有別於解決燃眉之急的慈濟捐獻,能為社會注入創新動力,藉著世界級科研平台刺激創意思維,推動生物科學、工程與醫學領域的長遠發展。

5G 蜜蜂計量器拯救消失蜂群

蜜蜂是自然界中極為重要的授粉者,近年蜂群數目持續下降,3 奧地利的 5G 網絡及技術方案,協助養蜂人監測蜂群動向,共同為全球岌岌可危的農業出一分力。

5G 港口:二千公噸的遙控力量

菲力斯杜港推行的 5G 港口計劃,不僅簡化工序,讓控制員在辦公室遙距操作重型岸邊吊機;系統更連接大量感應器,利用人工智能提升維修效率,為和記港口節省數以百萬英鎊的成本。

5G 接通香港至全球
開拓宇宙無疆界

3 香港以 5G 技術作最強後盾,協助中小企、藝術團體以至社群克服新冠疫情的重重障礙,突破地域甚至宇宙界限,全力助企業開創未來。