In Focus    |    10.2021

Disappearing bees? 5G Bee-o-meter to the rescue

5G is the immediate future of telecoms and will transform a wide range of industries. But it might also provide part of a solution for one of the world’s most mysterious and vexing problems: the disappearance of bees.

Bees are the underappreciated driver in modern agriculture. Food and other agricultural products – which need pollination for reproduction – depend on more than 20,000 species of bees, and these bees need to thrive in wild colonies and domestic beehives. However, bee population decline has been well documented in recent years, leading to major concerns among policymakers and industry players alike. However, the exact cause of this global phenomenon is still hotly debated, with monoculture practices, climate change, pesticide use and parasites – or some complex interaction of multiple factors – all being mooted as possible culprits.

As every colony becomes more important, the ability to monitor beehives and apply serious computing power (including artificial intelligence (AI)) can make it possible for beekeepers to see small problems before they become big ones, drive more insightful research and detect long-term trends.

3 Austria (Drei Austria), anticipating the deployment of 5G across the European nations, has become a vital part of a technological effort to get into beehives and connect real-time data to AI platforms that can inform beekeepers about what is happening in their hive as it occurs.

The data are transmitted via 5G tech to a powerful AI platform.

The 5G Bee-o-meter to the rescue!

Installing the 5G-enabled Bee-o-meter begins with extending the beehive entrance, so that as the bees enter and exit the hive, they are forced to pass by an optical sensor. This monitors and records their movements on video, and these data are transmitted via 5G tech to a powerful AI platform. Affixing a powerful computer to an outdoor hive would be impractical and would still need to send results to the Internet to be useful. 5G makes it possible to quickly get masses of data to where it can be collated, assessed and then communicated to the beekeepers.

According to Thomas Schweeger, an Austrian beekeeper in the pilot programme, “5G Bee-o-meter gives me round-the-clock real-time access to the data about the beehive. Without that, I would watch the bees only once a week. But now I can watch from the office and can get alerts.”

Experienced and newly inducted apiculturists alike can benefit. For example, novice beekeepers can find it challenging to detect ‘swarming’ and to plan for it accordingly. Swarming is the phenomenon of a hive splitting into two or more colonies as it grows, allowing for more colonies to be founded. The loss of adults can result in lower honey yields and pollination capabilities. In uncontrolled cases, it can mean the loss of a whole colony as multiple waves of swarming deplete the entire population. Alerts about bee movements and hive conditions can give beekeepers a chance to act to mitigate losses.

3 Austria ... can inform beekeepers about what is happening in their hive as it occurs.

Team effort

The Bee-o-meter embraces multiple tech solutions. Matthias Baldermann, Chief Technology Officer for 3 Austria, explains that “the 5G Bee-o-meter is a good showcase, demonstrating what you could do combining real-time video, AI and 5G capabilities. 3 Austria contributed the network planning and connectivity expertise. ZTE [Corporation] provided 5G core and radio technologies and 5G CPE. And IoT40 [Systems], our partner, implemented very quickly the beehive hardware and AI training for the 5G Bee-o-meter prototype.”

As the pilot programme provides more data, additional uses are being planned. For example, video detection of the small hive beetle, a deadly pest, is being built into the next generation system. More uses are being anticipated even as plans move forward to reduce hardware costs and eventually install over 1,000 Bee-o-meters across Austria.

Albert Schittenhelm, President of the Regional Association for Beekeeping in Vienna, anticipates a range of useful data sets becoming available to detect threats to bee health.

“We beekeepers, of course, hope that [the 5G Bee-o-meter] collaboration of the three companies, ZTE, Austria, and IoT40, will bring results for us. We would hope to get some backing and inputs on bee sickness, robbery, poisoning and so on, which will help us to better manage our bee-keeping challenges in the future.”

Copied to clipboard
Downloading PDF. Please wait...

Superdrug’s super nurses head for the coronavirus pandemic front lines

Superdrug’s nurses are taking on the toughest COVID-19 has to offer by volunteering to serve on their nation’s front lines, fighting the disease.

Sewage secretions surrender COVID-19 secrets

COVID-19 may be invisible to the eye, but not to scientists working with Northumbrian Water to trace its spread by sampling wastewater.

COVID-19 containment: Watsons Water makes a mask-making miracle machine

Team Watsons Water got creative and worked round the clock to deliver life-saving PPE to Hongkongers.

LKSF delivers the sword and shield to medical professionals

The Li Ka Shing Foundation sprang into action early in the coronavirus pandemic to provide desperately needed personal protective equipment to medical staff.

Energised education at HK Electric Institute

High-performance management at HK Electric is supercharged through education delivered by a host of internal and external professors at the HK Electric Institute.

Passion for learning: A.S. Watson Group Retail Academy

The high-pressure crucible of Hong Kong’s shopping environment seems like it would leave little room for learning among retail professionals. But A.S. Watson’s commitment to higher performance creates opportunities for promising staff to elevate their game at its very own Retail Academy.

Grants from LKSF foster strategic, system-wide advances in knowledge

Tactical donations make a difference to help tackle one, or even several, problems. But a series of strategic donations will bolster the entire biological, bioengineering and biomedical establishment in Hong Kong with world-class platforms and integrative thinking.

5G Ports: 2,000 tonnes of power from your desk

Port of Felixstowe’s 5G plans not only put the power of massive dockside cranes in the delicate digits of desk-driving derrick directors, but also connect a legion of sensors to help train AI that could save Hutchison Ports millions of pounds in maintenance efficiency.

5G connects Hong Kong to the world and the universe

5G is a platform to build dreams on and 3 Hong Kong is helping dreamers to climb on board. It works with small businesses and the community to help them overcome COVID-19 challenges and to unite their artistic vision, with an eye on the stars.

焦點視角    |    10.2021

5G 蜜蜂計量器拯救消失蜂群

全球電訊業逐步邁向 5G 世代,為各行各業帶來翻天覆地的變化,更破解了其中一個困擾多時的懸案 — 消失的蜂群。

蜜蜂對現代農業貢獻良多,卻往往被人忽視。眾多食物和農產品仰賴蜜蜂傳播花粉,而全球各地野外與養殖的蜂種超過兩萬。近年有精確紀錄顯示,蜂群數目不斷下降,政策制訂者和業界人士無不表示極度關注。然而,導致這種全球現象的實際原因仍爭議不絕,單一耕作、氣候變化、使用殺蟲劑與寄生蟲,甚或多種原因互相影響等,皆被視為蜂群數目下降的成因。

因此,確保每個蜂群健康穩定越發重要,必須善用精良的運算技術(包括人工智能)監察蜂巢情況,讓養蜂人可以未雨綢繆。防患於未然之餘,更可帶來更多有價值的研究數據,以助探索長遠趨勢。

3 奧地利預期 5G 技術在歐洲會逐步普及,現正擔當起一項關鍵任務,透過科技將蜂巢的實時數據傳送至人工智能平台,讓養蜂人及早掌握蜂巢狀況。

數據透過 5G 技術傳送至強大的人工智能平台。

5G 蜜蜂計量器拯救任務

裝設支援 5G 的蜜蜂計量器,先要擴展蜂巢入口,令蜜蜂進出蜂巢時必須經過一個監測及攝錄所有活動的光學感應器,再透過 5G 技術,把數據傳送至強大的人工智能平台。在戶外蜂巢裝設高效電腦並不實際可行,更何況監測結果必須能傳送至互聯網方可發揮作用。5G 技術解決了這些難題,能收集大量數據並迅速傳送整理,經評估後立即知會養蜂人。

參加 5G 蜜蜂計量器先導計劃的奧地利養蜂人 Thomas Schweeger 表示:「 5G 蜜蜂計量器 24小時為我提供蜂巢的實時數據,未有這種技術前,我每星期只可檢視蜂巢一次,而現在則可以安坐辦公室隨時監察,並能接收警報。」

當蜜蜂族群壯大至一定程度,蜜蜂便會分群離巢,建立新蜂群並另築蜂巢,此情況稱為「分巢」。倘若分巢後成年蜜蜂數量或經驗不足,有可能導致蜂蜜產量減少和傳播花粉能力下降。情況失控的話,甚至會引致整個蜂群消失。新手養蜂人較難察覺蜜蜂分巢,與蜜蜂動向和蜂巢狀況相關的警報,有助他們預先作出部署,減低損失,經驗豐富或新手養蜂人同樣受惠。

3 奧地利透過科技,讓養蜂人及早掌握蜂巢狀況。

團隊合作

蜜蜂計量器由多項技術方案組成,3 奧地利首席技術總監布達文解釋:「蜜蜂計量器是展示實時視象、人工智能與 5G 功能的最佳示範。3 奧地利提供網絡策劃與接駁技術、中興通訊提供 5G 主幹與無線電技術和 5G 用戶終端設備,而 IoT40 系統則極速裝設蜂巢硬件,並就 5G 蜜蜂計量器原型提供人工智能培訓。」

由於蜜蜂計量器先導計劃提供較原先更多數據,現正計劃新增額外用途。例如,新一代系統將增設蜂巢小甲蟲視象偵測功能,以助杜絕這種可引致蜜蜂死亡的害蟲。先導計劃正構思如何降低硬件成本,並預期計量器會有更多用途,最終將於奧地利全國安裝超過 1,000 台蜜蜂計量器。

維也納區域養蜂協會會長 Albert Schittenhelm 預計,一系列有用的數據將有助偵測各樣有損蜜蜂健康的威脅。「身為養蜂人,我們當然希望中興通訊、3 奧地利和 IoT40 三家公司合作研發的5G 蜜蜂計量器能為我們帶來效益。我們期望在蜜蜂疾病、盗竊與毒害等方面得到支援與見解,以助應對養蜂業未來的挑戰。」

文章連結已複製
文章下載中,請稍侯...

Superdrug 護士
踏上抗疫前線

Superdrug 的護士團隊在新冠肺炎疫情期間主動請纓,在抗疫前線服務社群。

污水揭示新冠病毒蹤跡

新型冠狀病毒病無色無味,卻在 Northumbrian Water 與科研人員面前無所遁形。他們收集及化驗污水樣本,合力追蹤新冠病毒。

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房
化身抗疫口罩重鎮

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房成就不可能的任務,全速改裝成全天候口罩生產線,與香港市民同心抗疫。

李嘉誠基金會
裝備醫護上抗疫戰場

工欲善其事,必先利其器。新冠病毒病疫情爆發初期,醫護個人防護裝備嚴重短缺,李嘉誠基金會迅即全球搜羅,提供協助。

港燈學院啟迪人才

港燈學院廣邀公司內外名師為員工講授專門課程,培育人才,精益求精。

屈臣氏集團零售學院成就持續進修

香港零售業界競爭激烈,從業員要兼顧工作和進修實在困難。屈臣氏集團特別成立零售學院,發掘人才,助有潛質的員工提升競爭力。

李嘉誠基金會資助院校推動長遠科研發展

策略性資助有別於解決燃眉之急的慈濟捐獻,能為社會注入創新動力,藉著世界級科研平台刺激創意思維,推動生物科學、工程與醫學領域的長遠發展。

5G 港口:二千公噸的遙控力量

菲力斯杜港推行的 5G 港口計劃,不僅簡化工序,讓控制員在辦公室遙距操作重型岸邊吊機;系統更連接大量感應器,利用人工智能提升維修效率,為和記港口節省數以百萬英鎊的成本。

5G 接通香港至全球
開拓宇宙無疆界

3 香港以 5G 技術作最強後盾,協助中小企、藝術團體以至社群克服新冠疫情的重重障礙,突破地域甚至宇宙界限,全力助企業開創未來。