In Focus    |    10.2021

5G Ports: 2,000 tonnes of power from your desk

At ports around the world, speed and accuracy are everything. Machine downtime, operational error and unexpected equipment failure can cost millions. But 5G is going to be a game changer in delivering a new level of speed and accuracy in operations that will make all the difference in the world.

As the UK’s largest port, Hutchison Ports Port of Felixstowe has a special role in ensuring that national trade flows smoothly. It is teaming up with another CK Hutchison family member – 3 UK – and other partners to create a standalone 5G network which is being tested in 2021 for deployment in 2022. Connecting 2,000-tonne cranes and their myriad sensors to a 5G network and AI (artificial intelligence)-driven cloud computing platforms is expected to deliver a host of benefits to port operators and participants in the many supply chains that run through Port of Felixstowe.

The initial plan is to connect the port’s remote control yard cranes (RCYC) to a 5G network. The RCYC will use the network to link the controls and over 20 cameras per crane which direct crane movements as they move containers at the port. Latency (the delay in relaying information across networks) will be dramatically reduced to the point where it is less than 15 milliseconds – a latency almost undetectable to human observers. It’s also ultra-reliable, meaning that remote operators’ handling will be in real-time and free from hang-ups that could disrupt loading and unloading, or worse, cause an accident.

Multi-million-pound Savings

The 5G network will also be connected to sensors on the quay cranes that measure temperature, vibrations and noise. Unusual changes in these variables can suggest problems like uneven wear and tear that could result in unexpected maintenance and costly downtime. The new system will feed real-time data to a local computing core that will use AI to create a ‘predictive maintenance algorithm’ that is constantly detecting and analysing conditions and which should deliver “multi-million-pound savings from improved availability and better planning of scheduled maintenance,” according to Karen Poulter, Head of Information Systems for Hutchison Ports UK.

That AI will also be connected to other operational data (for example, data on throughput planning, land and sea transport connections) and even financial data to create a holistic understanding of the business that can drive enhanced decision making.

But Ms Poulter knows it isn’t just about the machines. Transforming crane operation into a comfortable desk job – rather than a physically demanding stint in a cramped cabin in the sky – makes recruitment easier. “It’s getting increasingly hard to attract talent to the ports and we need to ensure that we can appeal to the whole diversity of the potential workforce,” she says. Remote crane operation is part of the answer.

More cranes – of which there are over 110 at Felixstowe – will be equipped over time for remote control operations and 5G is a must for this. “Globally, Hutchison Ports is committed to the automation of cranes, but connectivity is an issue. It’s not practical to run cables across a dockside,” says Ms Poulter.

The current operations include a 3 UK-developed link to off-site computing and processing using a 4G network. The core of that system is embedded in the 3 UK network. But 3 UK is open to multi-party collaborations to develop bespoke solutions to answer customer needs. That is exactly the case with this 5G roll-out.

Connecting 2,000-tonne cranes and their myriad sensors to a 5G network and AI-driven cloud computing platforms is expected to deliver a host of benefits.

Bringing Smart Partners Together

This project also involves partners from the commercial and academic sectors. The University of Cambridge is bringing its AI expertise to bear on port-related issues. Blue MESH Solutions is an Internet of Things (IoT) and sensor technology company that will be at the front line of data input and analysis on the cranes. Ericsson telecommunications equipment will also be part of the 5G network.

Lessons learned can then be used at Felixstowe in more projects, for example, the use of autonomous vehicles on-site using 5G networks. Given the expansion of economic activity expected as Port of Felixstowe assumes its recently awarded freeport status in the UK, the extra efficiency will be needed to keep goods moving smoothly.

Copied to clipboard
Downloading PDF. Please wait...

Superdrug’s super nurses head for the coronavirus pandemic front lines

Superdrug’s nurses are taking on the toughest COVID-19 has to offer by volunteering to serve on their nation’s front lines, fighting the disease.

Sewage secretions surrender COVID-19 secrets

COVID-19 may be invisible to the eye, but not to scientists working with Northumbrian Water to trace its spread by sampling wastewater.

COVID-19 containment: Watsons Water makes a mask-making miracle machine

Team Watsons Water got creative and worked round the clock to deliver life-saving PPE to Hongkongers.

LKSF delivers the sword and shield to medical professionals

The Li Ka Shing Foundation sprang into action early in the coronavirus pandemic to provide desperately needed personal protective equipment to medical staff.

Energised education at HK Electric Institute

High-performance management at HK Electric is supercharged through education delivered by a host of internal and external professors at the HK Electric Institute.

Passion for learning: A.S. Watson Group Retail Academy

The high-pressure crucible of Hong Kong’s shopping environment seems like it would leave little room for learning among retail professionals. But A.S. Watson’s commitment to higher performance creates opportunities for promising staff to elevate their game at its very own Retail Academy.

Grants from LKSF foster strategic, system-wide advances in knowledge

Tactical donations make a difference to help tackle one, or even several, problems. But a series of strategic donations will bolster the entire biological, bioengineering and biomedical establishment in Hong Kong with world-class platforms and integrative thinking.

Disappearing bees? 5G Bee-o-meter to the rescue

Vanishing bee populations are a major problem for global agriculture. 3 Austria’s 5G network is a key part of a tech solution that puts beekeepers ‘inside’ their hives to solve problems for Man’s invaluable helpers.

5G connects Hong Kong to the world and the universe

5G is a platform to build dreams on and 3 Hong Kong is helping dreamers to climb on board. It works with small businesses and the community to help them overcome COVID-19 challenges and to unite their artistic vision, with an eye on the stars.

焦點視角    |    10.2021

5G 港口:二千公噸的遙控力量

對全球各地的港口而言,速度與準繩度都極為重要。機器停工、運作失誤與突如其來的設備故障,隨時導致數以千萬計的損失。5G 技術扭轉形勢,將營運速度與準繩度提升至更高境界,環球港口業即將迎來新突破。

和記港口菲力斯杜港是全英最大港口,確保全國貿易暢通無阻的角色舉足輕重。該港口夥拍 3 英國與其他協作夥伴,聯手創建一個獨立5G網絡並於今年測試,以期在 2022 年投入服務。屆時多台處理能力達 2,000 公噸的吊機與無數感應器將接通 5G 網絡與人工智能雲端運算平台,預期可為港口營運商與多個相關供應鏈的持份者帶來更大營運效益。

整項計劃會先將菲力斯杜港的遙距操作堆場吊機接駁5G網絡,藉此與每台吊機逾 20 具攝影機連接,遙距控制吊機在港口操作的一舉一動。網絡時延(即網絡之間傳送資訊的時間延誤)將因此大幅減至不足 0.015 秒,操作員幾乎不會察覺。5G 網絡更是超級可靠,遙距操作員可無間斷實時處理貨櫃起卸,同時減少過去因延誤而導致的擾亂或意外。

節省數以百萬英鎊

岸邊吊機上的感應器連接了 5G 網絡,用以監察溫度、震動與噪音。若有異常變動,即表示吊機可能出現不穩定的損耗,需要緊急停工維修。和記港口英國的資訊系統主管鮑嘉韻認為,新系統會將實時數據傳送至港口的電腦,運用人工智能建立「預測維修推算法」,持續監測與分析情況,提升吊機的使用率,更有效規劃預定維修,料可節省數百萬英鎊支出。

人工智能系統也會接通其他營運數據(例如吞吐量規劃、海陸運輸接駁等數據)以至財務數據,以便對業務有全面了解,有助提升決策。

鮑嘉韻明白機器以外,操作專才同樣重要。過往操作員須攀上高空的操作室,在相對狹窄的空間操作吊機,需要大量體力。如今吊機操作可在辦公室遙距操控,解決了體力問題,招聘人手較從前容易多了。她說:「吸引人才到港口工作越來越困難,所以我們要擴大招聘對象,令不同的就業人才對我們的工作感到興趣。」

菲力斯杜港超過 110 台吊機將陸續改裝成遙距操作,而 5G 網絡是先決條件。鮑嘉韻續稱:「和記港口致力把旗下全球碼頭的吊機自動化,但網絡連接是一大問題,始終在碼頭鋪設通訊電纜並不可行。」

菲力斯杜港目前的相關運作系統由 3 英國開發,採用的 4G 網絡連接至 3 英國網絡內的處理器遙距運算與處理。而 3 英國廣邀多方合作,開發專屬的解決方案回應客戶需要,菲力斯杜港推行的 5G 網絡正是一個好例子。

多台處理能力達 2,000 公噸的吊機與無數感應器接通 5G 網絡與人工智能雲端運算平台,營運效益勢必大增。

智優夥伴攜手合作

項目亦包括來自商界與學術界的夥伴參與 — 劍橋大學把其人工智能技術應用於港口相關的事務上、物聯網與感應器科技公司 Blue MESH Solutions 負責吊機的前線數據輸入與分析,而愛立信則為 5G 網絡提供電訊設備。

推而廣之,菲力斯杜港可繼續把累積的經驗廣泛應用在更多項目上,例如在港口透過 5G 網絡操控無人駕駛車輛。菲力斯杜港近期晉身英國的自由港,預期經濟活動會大幅擴展,效率提升可確保運作更見暢順。

文章連結已複製
文章下載中,請稍侯...

Superdrug 護士
踏上抗疫前線

Superdrug 的護士團隊在新冠肺炎疫情期間主動請纓,在抗疫前線服務社群。

污水揭示新冠病毒蹤跡

新型冠狀病毒病無色無味,卻在 Northumbrian Water 與科研人員面前無所遁形。他們收集及化驗污水樣本,合力追蹤新冠病毒。

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房
化身抗疫口罩重鎮

屈臣氏蒸餾水廠房成就不可能的任務,全速改裝成全天候口罩生產線,與香港市民同心抗疫。

李嘉誠基金會
裝備醫護上抗疫戰場

工欲善其事,必先利其器。新冠病毒病疫情爆發初期,醫護個人防護裝備嚴重短缺,李嘉誠基金會迅即全球搜羅,提供協助。

港燈學院啟迪人才

港燈學院廣邀公司內外名師為員工講授專門課程,培育人才,精益求精。

屈臣氏集團零售學院成就持續進修

香港零售業界競爭激烈,從業員要兼顧工作和進修實在困難。屈臣氏集團特別成立零售學院,發掘人才,助有潛質的員工提升競爭力。

李嘉誠基金會資助院校推動長遠科研發展

策略性資助有別於解決燃眉之急的慈濟捐獻,能為社會注入創新動力,藉著世界級科研平台刺激創意思維,推動生物科學、工程與醫學領域的長遠發展。

5G 蜜蜂計量器拯救消失蜂群

蜜蜂是自然界中極為重要的授粉者,近年蜂群數目持續下降,3 奧地利的 5G 網絡及技術方案,協助養蜂人監測蜂群動向,共同為全球岌岌可危的農業出一分力。

5G 接通香港至全球
開拓宇宙無疆界

3 香港以 5G 技術作最強後盾,協助中小企、藝術團體以至社群克服新冠疫情的重重障礙,突破地域甚至宇宙界限,全力助企業開創未來。